• It is only after mature deliberation and thorough preparation that I have decided upon the Program of Revolution and defined the procedure of the revolution in three stages. The first is the period of military government; the second, the period of political tutelage; and the third, the period of constitutional government.

    "The Three Phases of National Reconstruction". Essay by Sun Yat-sen, 1918.
Cite this Page: Citation